Fountain Pen Reviews

Modern Fountain Pen Stash

Below is a list of links, in relatively alphabetical order, of fountain pens I’ve reviewed, for better of worse.

TWSBI 540 and Mini

9 Comments on Fountain Pen Reviews

  1. Anton Ninno
    August 9, 2012 at 6:39 pm (2 years ago)

    Please join my Facebook group for people who enjoy using the Pilot Varsity fountain pen. We have well over 100 members worldwide. If you have time, tell us something about your own experience with the Varsity. Thanks! – Anton

    Reply
  2. rtk
    August 22, 2013 at 8:44 am (1 year ago)

    Wonderful reviews! I especially like your “Modern Budget Fountain Pens” post. We’re going to need heck of alot more posts like that as the Chinese and Indian pen manufacturers pump out more and more cheap pens that perform well beyond their price range. :)

    Reply
  3. Derick Qua
    September 15, 2013 at 3:47 am (1 year ago)

    One serious omission—just in case—my over decade and a half workhorse, over more expensive pens or more known brands, has been the Omas Arte Italiana in XF and F. While my fave remains the platinum nib, even their lower cost versions are a joy to write with. I am an engineer and scientist, so about 30-40% of what I write are actually math or diagrams, just as a disclosure.

    Reply
  4. Derick Qua
    September 15, 2013 at 3:52 am (1 year ago)

    Forgot the other important part: ink! I’d love to see more ink reviews but my current fave (works excellent with Pelikan, Omas, Visconti and Montegrappa) is the Pilot Iroshizuku, specifically in Asa Gao (a striking lapis lazuli shade) … but the range of Colour choices is quite stunning. :) Took a few years to find a combo, but hey, I’m picky as hell.

    Reply
    • The Well-Appointed Desk
      September 15, 2013 at 10:06 am (1 year ago)

      I have many inks to review in the coming months, I’ve just fallen quite behind lately. Stay tuned! And thanks for the comments. I will take your recommendation to heart.

      Reply
  5. robertschofieldauthor
    January 9, 2014 at 3:55 am (11 months ago)

    hi there – I love your site.

    I own many of the pens and inks your review here, and I too am a big fan of the Kaweco Sport – there is always one in my pocket.

    my go-to pens at my desk are old Sheaffer 440’s, and I recently found a repro Sheaffer Balance which is my new favourite.

    I have several Pilot 78g and use the Pilot CON-50 ink converter, clear screw-thread piston, which is better than the nasty bladder that comes with the pen.

    for ink I like the Pilot Iroshi. I write with an extra-fine nib so flow is more important than shading. Only Mont Blanc ink comes as close to flowing as well as the Iroshi. I’ve taken to mixing several shades of Iroshi to get the colour I prefer.

    I’m looking forward to your review of the Kaweco Sport Art

    cheers

    R.

    Reply

2Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Fountain Pen Reviews

And then you said...